Saturday, May 24, 2008

Horace Silver - Silver's Blue

Killer early work from Horace Silver -- and a rare non-Blue Note session from the 50s! The album's Horace's only date for Columbia, and it's got a feel that's similar to some of the Jazz Messengers' hardbop recordings for the label at the time -- cooking with a soulful intensity at the bottom, yet taking off with some tremendously well-carved solos on the top! The group's an all-star ensemble that includes some of the best hardbop players of the time -- Hank Mobley on tenor sax, Donald Byrd and Joe Gordon on trumpet, Doug Watkins on bass, and Kenny Clarke and Art Taylor on drums -- all grooving together with Horace as if they'd been backing him up for years. Titles include great originals "Silver's Beat", "Shoutin' Out", and "Hank's Tune -- plus versions of "I'll Know" and "The Night Has A Thousand Eyes".

1. Silver's Blue
2. To Beat Or Not To Beat
3. How Long Has This Been Going On?
4. I'll Know
5. Shoutin' Out
6. Hank's Tune
7. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes


No comments: