Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Eric Kloss – One, Two, Free

This is a great LP by saxophonist Eric Kloss, it was released in 1972 on Muse Records and features Eric Kloss on sax, Pat Martino on guitar, Ron Thomas on piano, Dave Holland on bass and Ron Krasinski on drums.

1. One, Two, Free
2. It's Too Late
3. Licea


Monday, July 5, 2010

Please - Manila Thriller

Nice bit of soulful funky stuff with sort of a Free Soul sound, and by a group that (because of the "Manila" in the title, and the look on their faces) we've always assumed were Filipino. They do a nice job, though, and the groove is sweet and mellow, with a good harmony funk sound. Tracks include "Please Yourself", "You Got The Feeling", "Ego Trippin", "Flaming Lady", and "Side By Side".

1. Please Yourself
2. Spend the Night
3. Side by Side
4. Good Stuff
5. You Got the Power
6. Ego Trippin'
7. Something New
8. Gonna Get You
9. I'm Gonna Take Care of Business
10. Flaming Lady


Tuesday, June 22, 2010

James Moody - James Moody

This LP from James Moody was recorded in late 1959 and released on Cadet Records, according to the liner notes, players are James Moody on sax & flute, Tom McIntosh on trombone, Johnny Coles on trumpet, Gene Kee on piano, Musa Kalliem on baritone sax, John Lathen on bass and Clarence Johnston on drums.

1. Darben The Redd Foxx
2. Little Girl Blue
3. Out Of Nowhere
4. Daahoud
5. Yesterdays
6. Cookie
7. With Malice Toward None
8. R.B.Q.


Monday, June 14, 2010

Monty Alexander – Love And Sunshine

This is an MPS recording by pianist Monty Alexander from 1975, players are Monty Alexander on piano, Ernest Ranglin on guitar, Eberhard Weber on bass and Kenny Clare on drums.

1. S.K.J.
2. Summer Of ‘42
3. Now Is The Time
4. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life
5. Feel Like Making Love
6. On A Clear Day


Thursday, June 3, 2010

Hank Crawford – Mr. Blues Plays Lady Soul

Alto saxophonist Hank Crawford released this LP in 1969 on Atlantic Records, it was arranged & conducted by Arif Mardin, additional personnel is David Newman, Frank Wess, Seldon Powell and Pepper Adams on sax, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman, Snookie Young and Bernie Glow on trumpet, Jimmy Cleveland and Benny Powell on trombone, Eric Gale on guitar, Paul Griffin and Richard Tee on organ & piano, Jerry Jemmot, Charles Rainey and Ron Carter on bass and Bernard Purdie on drums. String section led by Gene Orloff, tenor sax & flute solos by David Newman. Produced by Joel Dorn.

1. Groovin’
2. I Can’t See Myself Leaving You
3. Never Let Me Go
4. Baby, I Love You
5. Lady Soul
6. Soul Serenade
7. Ain’t No Way
8. Since You’ve Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
9. Take A Look
10. Going Down Slow


Bill Cosby – Hooray For The Salvation Army Band!

This LP by Bill Cosby was released in 1968 on Warner’s Reprise label, the singer is backed by the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band.

1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart Club Band
2. Sunny
3. Reach Out I’ll Be There
4. (I’m A) Road Runner
5. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
6. Get Out Of My Life, Woman
7. Hooray For The Salvation Army Band
8. Funky North Philadelphia
9. Hold On I’m A Comin’
10. Ursalena
11. Time Brings About A Change
12. Stop, Look & Listen


Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Etta Jones – My Mother’s Eyes

Etta Jones released this LP in 1978 on Muse, personnel is Etta Jones on vocals, Sonny Phillips on keyboards, Jimmy Ponder on guitar, Rufus Reid on bass, Lawrence Killian on congas & percussion, Houston Person on tenor sax, Idris Muhammad on drums and George Devens on vibes. Produced by Houston Person.

1. The Way You Look Tonight
2. Don’t Misunderstand
3. Be My Love
4. You Do Something To Me
5. My Mother’s Eyes
6. This Girl’s In Love With You
7. Gloomy Sunday


Saturday, March 20, 2010

Doc Severinsen – Night Journey

This LP by trumpet player Doc Severinsen was released in 1976 on Epic Records, it features Doc Severinsen on trumpet, flugelhorn & vocals, Fred Crane on keyboards, Ernie Chapman on bass, Bobby Thomas and Vic Stewart on guitar, Paul Leim on drums, Larry White on steel guitar and Ron Snider on percussion, plus horns, strings & vocals.

1. I Wanna Be With You
2. Night Journey
3. The World’s Gone Home
4. Spanish Dreams
5. You Put The Shine On Me
6. Now And Then
7. Little Tiny Feets
8. Lookin’ Good
9. Open The Gates Of Love


Monday, February 22, 2010

Junior Mance - I Believe to My Soul

This LP of pianist Junior Mance was released in 1968 on Atlantic, players are Junior Mance on piano, David Newman and Frank Wess on tenor sax, Hubert Laws on tenor sax & flute, Bobby Capers and Haywood Henry on baritone sax, Joe Newman, Mel Lastie and Jimmy Owens on trumpet, Jimmy Tyrell, Bob Cunningham and Richard Davis on bass, Ray Lucas, Allan Dawson and Freddie Waits on drums and Ray Barretto on congas. Produced by Joel Dorn.

1. I Believe To My Soul
2. A Time And A Place
3. Sweet Georgia Brown
4. Golden Spur
5. Don’t Worry ‘Bout It
6. Home On The Range
7. Sweets For My Sweet
8. My Romance


Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Urbie Green – The Fox

Trombone player Urbie Green never was a household name but his two albums on the famous CTI label are excellent all-star jazz events featuring a host of guests like Eric Gale, Joe Farrell, Jeremy Steig, Mike Abene, Andy Newmark, Toots Thielemans, Jimmy Madison, Anthony Jackson and Mike Mainieri among others, delivering another slice of great CTI jazz. This session was produced by Creed Taylor and released 1976.


Sunday, February 7, 2010

Teruo Nakamura - Manhattan Special

Japanese bass player Teruo Nakamra released this album in 1977 on Polydor, it is an all-star event featuring his band "Rising Sun", consisting of Shiro Mori, Mark Gray, Harry Whitaker, Carter Jefferson, Keiji Kishida, Art Gore and Nobu Urushiyama. Guests include John Mosley on trumpet, Art Webb on flute and Herbie Hancock on keyboards among others. Great Japanese funk-jazz.

1. Manhattan Special
2. Rainbow
3. Mescalito
4. Firefly
5. Wiggle Worm
6. Sequoia Forest
7. Mr. Cherry And Mr. T.
8. Love Is A Reflection In The Mirrors Behind Our Eyes/Sunrise In Africa


Saturday, February 6, 2010

Takashi Kako - Scrawl

Pianist Takashi Kako released this LP in 1987 on CBS/Sony in Japan, personnel are Takashi Kako on piano, Shuichi "Ponta" Murakami on drums, Hiroshi Yoshino on bass, Toshihiko Inoue on sax and Tetsuji Yoshida on trumpet.

1. Snake Dance
2. Lazy
3. Mystique Waltz
4. From Tokyo
5. No Beards In Albania
6. Jardin De Monastere
7. Moon Clouds
8. Scrawl


Friday, February 5, 2010

Toots Thielemans - Apple Dimple

Toots Thielemans released this LP in 1979 on the Better Days label, it was recorded in Tokyo, featured players are Toots Thielemans on harmonica, guitar & whistle, Masahiko Sato on piano & synthesizers, Tsunehide Matsuki on guitar, Akira Okazawa on bass, Yuichi Togashiki on drums and Tadaomi Anai on percussion, plus horns & strings.

1. Take The A Train
2. Sunday In New York
3. Looking For Mr. Goodbar
4. Honesty
5. Midnight Cowboy
6. Harlem Nocturne
7. Still Crazy After All These Years