Thursday, June 3, 2010

Hank Crawford – Mr. Blues Plays Lady Soul

Alto saxophonist Hank Crawford released this LP in 1969 on Atlantic Records, it was arranged & conducted by Arif Mardin, additional personnel is David Newman, Frank Wess, Seldon Powell and Pepper Adams on sax, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman, Snookie Young and Bernie Glow on trumpet, Jimmy Cleveland and Benny Powell on trombone, Eric Gale on guitar, Paul Griffin and Richard Tee on organ & piano, Jerry Jemmot, Charles Rainey and Ron Carter on bass and Bernard Purdie on drums. String section led by Gene Orloff, tenor sax & flute solos by David Newman. Produced by Joel Dorn.

1. Groovin’
2. I Can’t See Myself Leaving You
3. Never Let Me Go
4. Baby, I Love You
5. Lady Soul
6. Soul Serenade
7. Ain’t No Way
8. Since You’ve Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
9. Take A Look
10. Going Down Slow


No comments: