Monday, June 23, 2008

Cannonball Adderley - Soul of the Bible

Prime material from Cannonball and David Axelrod -- and despite the biblical leanings of the title, the record is pretty darn funky! As they did for the Zodiac, Cannonball and Adderley take a trip through a host of cultural milestones -- stopping along the way to turn each one into a new pillar of soul, working with Rick Holmes, who narrates the set in the same way he did on the Zodiac albums. Brother Nat Adderley and George Duke are among the players in the album's very funky backing -- and tracks include "Make Your Own Temple", "Amani", "Space Spiritual", "Eternal Walk", and "Gone". Oh for the days of the double LP concept jazz record!

1. In The Beginning
2. Yield
3. Obeah
4. Fun In The Church
5. The Eternal Walk
6. Krukma
7. Gone
8. Behold
9. Psalm 24
10. Make Your Own Temple
11. Taj
12. Psalm 54
13. Amani
14. Space Spiritual

Part 1
Part 2


Messiah of Soul Power Music Group said...

damn i been lookin' for this jawn! i found a ways back but the link was dead......thanks fam'!

matt said...


jazzlover said...

Great post,thanks!